Sunday, 10 March 2013

Latest Munin Barkataki Award Meeting

The meeting to give away the Munin Barkotoki Awards for the years 2011 and 2012 was held on 2nd March, 2013 at the Vivekananda Kendra Hall in Guwahati. The well-attended meeting was presided over by Professor Nagen Saikia, from Dibrugarh University and former President of the Assam Sahitya Sabha, and the invited speaker on the occasion was Professor Dilip Kumar Barua,  formerly from Burdwan University. The four awardees were Rasmirekha Bora and  Arindom Barkataki for the year 2011 and Sanjibpaul Deka and Sharmistha Pritam for the year 2012.

While the young writer Sharmistha Pritam won the hearts of all present with her graceful words of acceptance, Professor Barua delivered a very illuminating and learned lecture on the topic 'Samalochanar Mapkathi Nirdharan'. There were a few flutters in the morning of the event for me when Ma had to be taken to hospital  with a heart problem. But as soon as the doctors declared her condition to be stable she bravely returned from hospital to be present at the meeting. Upen khura (Upendra Barkataki) had to play host and spare Ma having to make a speech. My capacities and patience were stretched to their utmost limits that day but it was very gratifying to see the large turnout and the kind words which everyone had for us after the end of yet another memorable event. The next meeting will be in 2015, the year of Baba's birth centenary, and will take a lot more doing. I only hope and pray Ma will be more up to it all then.

1 comment:

  1. Awesome,
    Thank you so much for sharing such an awesome blog...I really enjoyed reading this blog. I like and appreciate your work. Keep up the good work.